American Nurses Association – Michigan Nurses Foundation Officially Launches at Awards and Recognition Fundraiser feat. Dr. Ernest Grant, President of ANA

Posted 11 months ago in News and Articles

ANA-Michigan is pleased to announce the official launch of their foundation, the American Nurses Association – Michigan Nurses Foundation, at an evening Awards and Recognition Fundraiser that was held at the Ann Arbor Marriott Ypsilanti at Eagle Crest on Tuesday, November 16. The event also recognized the 2021 ANA-Michigan nursing award recipients, and included the attendance of Dr. Ernest Grant, the current President of the American Nurses Association.

“We were thrilled to launch the foundation last evening, after many months of hard work and dedication on behalf of the Foundation Advisory Board,” said Tobi Lyon, Executive Director of ANA-Michigan. “The Foundation is poised to do great work as they focus on raising funds for the many needs of nursing across the state of Michigan.”

Through the power of philanthropy, the ANA-Michigan Nurses Foundation promotes and advances Michigan nurses and the profession through the support of professional development, education, scholarly work, research opportunities, and personal needs. They envision being the premier nursing foundation that shapes the profession by energizing and mobilizing their resources.

“The creation of this foundation is the culmination of great ideas and the dedication needed to turn them into actions,” said Myrna Holland, RN, MSN, a member of the Foundation Advisory Board. “With the foundation officially up and running, we can shift our focus to raising funds and allocating them to the areas of nursing that need it the most. Our work is just beginning.”

The Awards and Recognition Fundraiser bestowed awards in the following categories:

  • Exceptional Promise Award – Zoe Retell
  • Future Nurse Leader Award – Meklit Shonga, RN
  • Public Policy Advocate Award – Dr. Sue Anne Bell, PhD, FNP-BC, FAAN
  • Innovation Award – The Dr. Gary Burnstein Community Health Clinic
  • Collaborative Practice Award – Kent County Health Department
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Dr. Phyllis S. Brenner, PhD, RN
  • Dorothea Milbrandt Nurse Leader Award – Linda Taft, RN

Recipients were notified of their selection as award winners, but public announcement of the names was embargoed until after the event. Attendees were invited to the dinner and awards portion of the evening, with an opportunity to purchase an additional VIP meet and greet ticket to attend a cocktail hour with Dr. Ernest Grant.

For more information about the ANA-Michigan Nurses Foundation, please visit For more information about ANA-Michigan, please visit 




Established in 2021, the ANA-Michigan Nurses Foundation is a tax-exempt, charitable 501(c)(3) organization. ANA-Michigan Nurses Foundation seeks to provide access to education and research opportunities to advance the future of the nursing profession. The Foundation relies on the generosity of its donors to fund scholarships and grants year after year.